• Fire Weather Watch - Click for Details
    Effective: February 26, 2024 @ 10:00am
    Expires: February 26, 2024 @ 6:00pm

WIU Honors Black History Month 2023

SHARE NOW

MACOMB, IL – Throughout February Western Illinois University will honor Black History Month with a schedule full of events.

This year’s theme for the national celebration is “Black Resistance.”

“I believe Black History Month is important for the WIU community because it provides students, faculty and staff a better understanding of the perspectives their counterparts experience as a person of color; it allows individuals to celebrate a culture outside of their own; It provides an opportunity to become educated on historical and modern events that have heavily influenced the Black community and the entire nation,” said WIU Social Work major Jon’a Levi.

Campus events planned as part of this year’s celebration include:

  • Wednesday, Feb. 1, noon-2:30 p.m., Tillman Hall: Protective Style Photoshoot.
  • Thursday, Feb. 9, 11 a.m.-4 p.m., Grand Ballroom: Sickle Cell Blood Drive.
  • Friday, Feb. 10, noon-2 p.m., Multicultural Center: Feel Good Friday
  • Tuesday, Feb. 14 & Thursday, Feb. 16, 11a.m.-3 p.m., University Union: Hair Care Basket Raffle.
  • Wednesday, Feb. 15 & Friday, Feb. 17, 4-6 p.m., Multicultural Center: Hair Care Basket Raffle
  • Thursday, Feb. 16, 5-7 p.m., Art Gallery: Black History Art Exhibition
  • Sunday, Feb. 19, noon-2 p.m., Multicultural Center: Free Breakfast Program
  • Friday, Feb. 24, time TBD, Multicultural Center: Melodies of Musicality by Afro-Latinx Artists
  • Monday, Feb. 27, 11 a.m.-noon, Multicultural Center: Financial Literacy Workshop
  • Tuesday, Feb. 28, 5:30-8 p.m., Multicultural Center: VRC Movie Event: Devotion.

For more information about Black History Month events, contact WIU’s Multicultural Center at (309) 298-3496.

Copy Provided By: University Communications

Submit a Comment